Nominations for 2022 are open until January 14, 2022. 

This award recognizes early career scholars whose work has advanced rigorous research relevant to educational practice. 

Eligibility: In March 2022, the recipient must be within seven years of earning the doctoral degree (i.e., must have received his/her degree in 2015 or later).   
Note: If a candidate took an extended professional leave of absence or had an interruption in their work due to unforeseen circumstances, the candidate can have an extension to the seven year period specified. The candidate does not need to provide details in their application but should indicate that they are applying under this clause, and note the length of time they were on extended leave or had their work paused due to the interruption. 
Recognition: The honoree(s) will be recognized at the SREE 2021 Meeting and will receive a $1000 award, a plaque, and an opportunity to organize a panel or symposium session at the Conference. The honoree(s) will be notified by February 15.

Nominations: Both self-nominations and nominations of others will be accepted.

Nominations must include an up-to-date CV, a one-page summary of contributions written by the nominee, and a 1-2 page letter of support provided by an advisor or colleague. The summary of contributions and the letter of support together would ideally address the following domains: (1) quality of research; (2) relevance / contributions of research to educational practice; and (3) contributions to / participation in SREE. All materials should be sent to [email protected] as a single PDF, with the exception of the letter of support, which may be sent separately if desired. Be sure your name is on the application. Materials must be received by 11:59 PM PT, January 14, 2022.

Criteria for selection: (1) quality of research; (2) relevance / contributions of research to educational practice; and (3) contributions to / participation in SREE.

2021 Early Career Award Recipients: Matthew Kraft, Brown University, and Dana Charles McCoy, Harvard University




2020 Early Career Award Recipients: Josh Polanin, American Institutes for Research, and Meghan McCormick, MDRC

2019 Early Career Award Recipients: Luke Miratrix, Harvard University, and Sharon Wolf, University of Pennsylvania



This award recognizes the contributions of authors to the Society’s journal, Journal of Research on Educational Effectiveness (JREE). Among all articles published in JREE in the prior calendar year (2019), one or more outstanding articles will be recognized with this award.

Eligibility: For the award given in March, author(s) of a paper published in JREE in the preceding year.

Selection Committee: The selection process will be conducted by the JREE editorial team. There is no application or external nomination process.

Recognition: The recipient(s) will be recognized at the SREE 2021 Conference and will receive a plaque. The recipient(s) will be notified by January 31, 2021.

Criteria for selection: The paper provides a model example of rigorous evaluation of an educational innovation, a particularly important methodological advance, or a thorough and impactful review of theory, contexts, or mechanisms of educational processes.

2020 JREE Outstanding Article Award Recipients: Dan Goldhaber, John M. Krieg, & Roddy Theobald (2020) for Exploring the Impact of Student Teaching Apprenticeships on Student Achievement and Mentor Teachers, 13:2, DOI: 10.1080/19345747.2019.1698087 

2019 JREE Outstanding Article Award Recipients: Sharon Wolf, J. Lawrence Aber, Jere R. Behrman, & Edward Tsinigo (2019) for Experimental Impacts of the 'Quality Preschool for Ghana' Interventions on Teacher Professional Well-Being, Classroom Quality, and Children’s School Readiness, 12:1, DOI: 10.1080/19345747.2018.1517199

2018 JREE Outstanding Article Award Recipients: Luke Miratrix, Jane Furey, Avi Feller, Todd Grindal & Lindsay C. Page (2018) for Bounding, An Accessible Method for Estimating Principal Causal Effects, Examined and Explained, Journal of Research on Educational Effectiveness, 11:1, 133-162, DOI: 10.1080/19345747.2017.1379576

2017 JREE Outstanding Article Award Recipients:
Julie A. Edmunds, Fatih Unlu, Elizabeth Glennie, Lawrence Bernstein, Lily Fesler, Jane Furey, and Nina Arshavsky for Smoothing the Transition to Postsecondary Education: The Impact of the Early College Model

Howard S. Bloom, Stephen W. Raudenbush, Michael J. Weiss, and Kristin Porter for
Using Multisite Experiments to Study Cross-Site Variation in Treatment Effects: A Hybrid Approach with Fixed Intercepts and a Random Treatment Coefficient



The Hedges Lecture is a much-anticipated highlight of the yearly SREE conference. Offered by an individual who has made notable contributions to methods in education research, the lecture challenges the audience to think more critically, deeply, and expansively about the methods we use. The lecture bears the name of Larry Hedges to honor his work in advancing research methods in education and social science and his part in founding the Society, which supports continuous improvement in the field.

2020 Hedges LecturerStephen Raudenbush, University of Chicago, Mobilizing Evidence to Reduce Educational Inequality: A Life-Course Perspective

2019 Hedges LecturerJudith Singer, Harvard University, Shaping the Arc of Educational Research

2018 Hedges LecturerAndrew Gelman, Columbia University, Evidence-Based Practice Is a Two-Way Street

2017 Hedges LecturerEsther Duflo, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, From Research to Policy: The Tortuous Process of Mainstreaming an Effective Education Intervention

2016 Hedges LecturerLarry V. Hedges, Northwestern University, Challenges in Building Usable Knowledge in Education